A Message from the Chairman

“Welcome to the new WMHS Foundation website. From my vantage point on the WMHS Board, I’ve seen the Foundation become a tremendous success throughout the years. A $10.7 million capital campaign helped build the Western Maryland Regional Medical Center, and millions in additional donations are providing healthcare scholarships, the latest technology, and support for our caregivers and patients.

I am certainly looking forward to the year ahead with Thomas Finan, Vice Chairman; Marc Zanger, Secretary; and the entire Foundation Board, as we share our message and work with the community. From scholarships to Schwab Family Cancer Center Mission Tours, and from the Annual Golf Classic to Ted A. Wolfe Trust Grants, we have very important work to do.

It is an honor and a privilege to serve as Chairman of the WMHS Foundation Board of Directors.”

Kim Leonard

Chairman of WMHS Foundation

WMHS Board of Directors

Front, L-R: Kim Leonard, Chair; Karen Johnson, Chief Development Officer and Executive Director; and Thomas B. Finan, Jr., Vice Chair.
Left-Right: John J. “Jack” McMullen, Jr., Esq., Richard Daugherty, Fred Shober, Chris Lockard, George Lapp, Jr., Sandi Saville, Dave Mathews, Marlee Gabriele, Dr. Steven Smith, Betty Jo Gehauf, Larry D. Boggs, Patsy Koontz, Carl O. Belt, Jr.
Not pictured: Kelli Allaway, Robert S. Paye, Esq., Elizabeth “Liz” Rhodes, and Marc Zanger.

Board Members:

  • Kelli Allaway
  • Carl O. Belt, Jr.
  • Larry D. Boggs
  • Richard Daugherty
  • Thomas B. Finan, Jr., Vice Chair
  • Linda Freas
  • Marlee Gabriele
  • Betty Jo Gehauf
  • Patsy Koontz
  • George Lapp, Jr.
  • Kim Leonard, Chairman
  • Chris Lockard
  • Dave Mathews
  • John J. “Jack” McMullen, Jr., Esq.
  • Elizabeth Rhodes
  • Sandi Saville
  • Sherry Schmitt
  • Dr. Steven Smith
  • Marc Zanger, Secretary

Staff Directory

Karen Johnson
Chief Development Officer & Executive Director
MBA, Frostburg State University
Lisa Hout
Senior Development Officer
BS, Management, Bellevue University
Katie Gattens
Coordinator, Events and External Relations
MPA, Organizational Management, American Military University
Jaime Perrin
Development Assistant
BS, Business Administration, Frostburg State University
Dawn Martz
Executive Secretary