Hospital News

WMHS Scholarship Recipient Voted Student Doctor of the Year


Christopher Ackerman, recipient of the Ted A. Wolfe Physician Scholarship, administered by the UPMC Western Maryland Foundation, has been named Student Doctor of the Year at the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine, Spartanburg, South Carolina. He is also under review for Top Five Student Doctors in America.

The Ted A. Wolfe Physician Scholarship represents the legacy of a man who grew up in Cumberland and dedicated a portion of his will to support “medical services and educational expenses for persons in Allegany County in need of financial assistance.” The scholarship program fulfills Mr. Wolfe’s wishes exactly, while funding medical school education for an outstanding local student. His generosity and foresight is a gift to our community, as these young adults return, as physicians, to practice medicine in Allegany County.

For additional information about the UPMC Western Maryland Foundation Scholarship Program, visit or call 240-964-8061.

Please note, the information provided throughout this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. All content, including text, graphics, images, and video, on or available through this website is for general information purposes only. If you are experiencing relating symptoms, please visit your doctor or call 9-1-1 in an emergency.